Friends of the Somme - Mid Ulster Branch  
241643   Private William V McGaw
Save as PDF
Dated added: 30/12/2015   Last updated: 15/08/2020
Personal Details
Regiment/Service: 9th Battalion, Seaforth Highlanders (British Army)
Date Of Birth: 19/07/1896
Died: 25/07/1917 (Died of Wounds)
Age: 21
William McGaw was the eldest son of William and Mary McGaw. He was born on 19th July 1896 in Ballymoyle, Coagh. The 1901 census lists William as age 4, living with the family at house 17 in Ballylifford, Salterstown, County Londonderry. His father was a labourer. His mother was a housekeeper. At the outbreak of the First World War, William McGaw enlisted in Glasgow, joining the Highland Light Infantry. He later transferred to the Seaforth Highlanders. Private McGaw was wounded in action and taken to No 3 General Hospital at Le Treport. Private William McGaw died of his wounds on Wednesday 25th July 1917.
Read more on Private William V McGaw
 William V McGaw
Cemetery Details
Cemetery: Mont Huon Military Cemetery
  Le Treport, Seine-Maritime
Grave Ref: Grave 3-M-5B
CWGC Casualty 119624
Le Treport is a small seaport 25 kilometres north-east of Dieppe. The Cemetery is 1.5 kilometres south of the town. Go towards the centre of Le Treport and then follow the Littoral/Dieppe sign. The Cemetery stands on the D940.
Local Memorial Details

No Memorial Name Townland
1 Coagh Soldiers and Sailors War Memorial 2013 - WW1- Panel 2 Coagh
Local Institute / Local Book Details

No Name Page
1 Cookstown War Dead Book WW1 213
References and Links
No Link Reference Map Doc
1 1901 Census lists McGaw family 1901 census lists William as age 4 at house 17 in Ballylifford, Salterstown
2 Lost Medals Medals Owned/Wanted: Death Plaque / British War Medal
3 Mid Ulster Mail report Details including photo
4 National Archives UK Medal card can be purchased here
5 Soldiers Died in the Great War Details of Private Private William V McGaw
6 War Graves Photographic Project Photo of Private William McGaw's grave can be purchased here
Cookstown District's War Dead Acknowledgements 2010-2023